Vintage releases new Jeanette Winterson editions

Mark Sinclair of Creative Review takes a look
New Vintage design for Winterson's Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit
From Mark Sinclair (Creative Review):
Six of author Jeanette Winterson's novels are published today in new editions from Vintage, featuring some bold cover art work by the publisher's senior designer, James Jones...

From Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, Winterson's 1985 debut, the new editions also include her novels The Passion (1987), Sexing the Cherry (1989), Written on the Body (1992), Art and Lies (1994) and The Power Book (2000).

Jones says that his initial thoughts on the design of the set involved taking a photographic approach. "Quite simple and graphic – [but] I couldn't find any images that were bold enough to carry Jeanette's world," he says. "This quickly progressed to purely typographic covers before I began introducing some hand-drawn illustrations. [Read More]

Find Jeanette Winterson on Amazon: US | UK

Also at A Piece of Monologue: